Six Nations decision makers have said that there will probably be no action taken over the alleged bite on Wales’ George North in the defeat to France.

The player complained to referee Wayne Barnes during and after the match, but TMO Peter Fitzgibbon couldn’t find any evidence on the replays.

Wales coach Rob Howley claimed North had bite marks on his arm in the match which saw 21 minutes of added time played.

France scored a last-minute converted try to win the game 20-18 in Paris after one of the strangest ends to a game in Six Nations history.

Citing commissioner John Montgomery “carefully reviewed all relevant evidence” but was unable to see any clear evidence.

In a statement, Six Nations said: "based on the information available to him in the case of the alleged bite (including footage of the incident from several angles), the citing commissioner has not been able to conclude that any particular individual carried out an act of foul play.

“Accordingly he has not made a citing complaint ahead of the ordinary deadline for doing so, ie within 48 hours after the conclusion of the match.

"While the relevant rules provide that in certain circumstances, for example where the citing commissioner is uncertain as to the identity of the player(s) concerned, he is permitted to make a citing complaint after the 48-hour deadline, Six Nations Rugby anticipates that this will be the end of the matter in terms of the alleged bite."