In similar fashion to testing, Yamaha’s Maverick Vinales was fastest in FP1 ahead of the Qatar Grand Prix this weekend.

Maverick Vinales is proving to be the man to be beat as he finished free practice 1 top of the timesheet in Qatar.

The Spaniard put in a 1:54.316, a time just under six tenths faster than defending champion Marc Marquez.

Marquez and Dani Pedrosa were the only riders who were able to get within a second of Vinales.

Jonas Folger finished in fourth on his MotoGP debut for Monster Yamaha with a 1:55.587.

There were also some mishaps as Sam Lowes, Jack Miller and Karel Abraham all had falls.

Cal Crutchlow was forced off the track early on in the session after smoke began pouring from his Honda engine.

Final Standings After FP1

1.Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)1m 54.316s [Lap 17/18]335km/h (Top Speed) 
2.Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)1m 54.912s +0.596s[17/18]338km/h 
3.Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)1m 55.210s +0.894s[15/16]338km/h 
4.Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)*1m 55.587s +1.271s[15/15]333km/h 
5.Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17)1m 55.607s +1.291s[15/17]343km/h 
6.Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP15)1m 55.624s +1.308s[16/16]334km/h 
7.Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V)1m 55.639s +1.323s[15/15]334km/h 
8.Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)*1m 55.792s +1.476s[17/18]334km/h 
9.Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)1m 55.799s +1.483s[18/18]340km/h 
10.Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)1m 55.872s +1.556s[14/15]332km/h 
11.Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17)1m 55.873s +1.557s[5/17]343km/h 
12.Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16)1m 56.000s +1.684s[16/16]340km/h 
13.Andrea Iannone ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)1m 56.027s +1.711s[16/17]335km/h 
14.Alvaro Bautista ESP Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP16)1m 56.128s +1.812s[17/19]344km/h 
15.Karel Abraham CZE Aspar MotoGP Team (Desmosedici GP15)1m 56.399s +2.083s[14/14]338km/h 
16.Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP17)1m 56.419s +2.103s[8/15]342km/h 
17.Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)1m 56.453s +2.137s[10/16]335km/h 
18.Alex Rins ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*1m 56.502s +2.186s[15/16]335km/h 
19.Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)1m 56.725s +2.409s[17/18]336km/h 
20.Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP16)1m 56.725s +2.409s[13/14]342km/h 
21.Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16)1m 57.630s +3.314s[11/16]335km/h 
22.Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)*1m 57.887s +3.571s[12/14]331km/h 
23.Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16)1m 58.114s +3.798s[17/17]333km/h